lizardwizard

Best place to source fish for breeding?

Hi Guys, I'm new to the whole breeding scene but keen to get into breeding a few different cichlids. I've owned cichlids for the past 6-7 years but only in community tanks and all were sourced from local pet stores only.

I live in Gladstone ( approx 550k's north of Brisbane ). I am chasing suppliers, private or otherwise that i can source either breeding colonies or fish i can raise to breeding colonies that will ship to Gladstone or are near by ( i don't mind driving a few hours if need be ).

I have done a fair bit of research online but most suppliers i can find do not ship.

Look forward to getting to know a few people going foreward and any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

Couple people who will be able to help you out are [MENTION=4423]steveandjules[/MENTION] as well as the "Fish Breeders" Facebook page. But Steve is a top bloke and you shouldn't need to go past him honestly ;) best of luck! It's an exciting and challenging path your taking haha

What species are you looking at breeding?

I can source from a few different bloodlines around the Gold Coast and send a box up.

And if you get a box from Steve as well you should have a good mix of quality bloodlines.

Hey Dave,

Im in gladstone & regularly get fish up from Bris. Run my own home based aquarium business....look up Dan's Fish n Bits(web or facebook).

Send me a pm, i'll let ya know what i've got and can get and see what we can do.

Thanks for the mention [MENTION=4423]steveandjules[/MENTION]

Cheers

Dan

Best off buying in bulk and getting your fish from ^^^^^^ DFishKeeper (Doug) ^^^^^ if he has the time to send some fish up too you. Quality is superb and price follows. Plenty of big breeders chase his lines anyways so why not just buy from the source. I'm proud to have some of Doug's old colonies or brought in bulk to make a colony. Quality sells in this hobby.