here is what i have i am a native newbie . threadin rainbows and black swan ck orantes, they are beautiful fish not only on the eye but peaceful nature . i had threadfins first then added ornates they schooled right away beautiful to watch . I have pacific blue eyes from a local creek here also they are in quarantine atm . Support the locals i say :) and thanx to the guys on here for all ur help .

post-15333-14711633323847_thumb.jpg

post-15333-14711633323998_thumb.jpg

post-15333-14711633324131_thumb.jpg

here is what i have i am a native newbie . threadin rainbows and black swan ck orantes, they are beautiful fish not only on the eye but peaceful nature . i had threadfins first then added ornates they schooled right away beautiful to watch . I have pacific blue eyes from a local creek here also they are in quarantine atm . Support the locals i say :) and thanx to the guys on here for all ur help .

[ATTACH=CONFIG]62254[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]62255[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]62256[/ATTACH]

Love the threadfins.....

I like threadfins too but until I get an RO unit , the "liquid rock" that masquerades as water , from my local supply will kill them .

but it was good for "tangs " when I was breeding them - not much else likes superhard water with a PH in the low 8s . ( except maybe marines )

But (big BUT) they have a marine larval stage !

Vast Majority of natives have an estuarine larval /juvenile stage - applies to nearly all Gobies as well as most other species except Rainbows & Saratoga. There are even Rainbow varieties that live in brackish water habitats.

Edited by none

Melanotaenia locality variants including M.s.splendida & M.s.inornata. None known to live exclusively in brackish conditions in Australia no. (Other than Blue Eyes which some group with rainbows).

Here is a cool video showing some natives:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqW6fXPUeKo