Related topic.

How do you stunt a fish? If the fish is stunted would the next generation be small as well? Thinking of creating rays that are small so people with normal width tank can have rays.

From what I've read, stunting is when a fish hasn't been given appropriate room to grow. However its internal organs keep growing... I'm no expert but I'd say this is bad for the fish lol.

I believe short bodied fish are a deformity that has been line bred to keep the trait (deformity). And still, I'm not exactly sure this is good for the fish.

In my opinion, if you can't house a fish for it to thrive in its natural form or its stunted. either don't buy it or humanely put it down

Fish that have been stunted have normal fry although stunted females may not produce good quality eggs.

But fish that carry genetic abnormal traits causing them to be born stunted may produce stunted fry eg blood parrots.

Causes such as high nitrates, bad diet and incorrect temperature will all produce stunted humans..... and fish.

Cramped conditions can stunt fish to different degrees, but this is usually not permanent unless its combined with other factors like high nitrates and bad nutrition. Eg koi in shallow ponds will not get nice shoulders but will get them if moved to deeper water.

Edited by Donny@ageofaquariums

I have one uaru of my colony which stayed small despite having the best condition. It is a happy eater but remained small while his companions are gentle giants now.

Could be gene factor as i collected my colony from different breeder.

I inherited a tiger oscar a while back wich was 2 yr old and was kept in a 2ft tank and around 18cm looked like all stumpy but after being put in a 8x2x2 it grew real fast and I mean fast probly 10cm in 7-8 weeks and became top dog of the tank his tank mates were a 45cm Saratoga Jardini and 3 40cm pecock bass was just a bit curious to see what experiences others have had