lilypilyyy

I am embarking on a planted tank adventure!

After much thought and deliberation, I have decided to build a planted tank. I have done a lot of reading and research on the topic and have decided to purchase the following products next week:

• Aqua Manta Xanti 40L (60(L)x26(W)x27.5(H)cm) - I would have loved to get a customer tank built but $$$ is limited.
  • Aqua One Nano Co2 Kit
  • Aqua One Plant Glo (45cm, 18W)

I feel like this will be enough to get me started, however as a planted tank newbie, I'd love to be corrected if I am wrong!

The Mantis has been kind enough to give me some fantastic advice regarding planted tank set ups, particularly HC.

I am hoping to use (assuming I can get my hands on them) the following plants:

• Mini Rose Moss
  • Bamboo Plant
  • Egleria Fluctuans
  • Dwarf Hairgrass
  • Eriocaulon Cinerum
  • Hemianthus Callitrichoides
  • Water Violet
  • Whorled Pennywort
  • Sulawesi Plant
  • Pogostemon Erectus
  • Crsystalwart

Now I know it'd be ridiculous and adventageous to put all of these plants into ONE planted aquarium, but I don't anticipate being able to find and purchase all of them... so I put it to the people, what do you think would be good combinations? Have any of you used these plants before?

My next question is regarding substrate. I've done a lot of research on the best substrates for planted tanks but I am getting a lot of conflicting information. What would you all recommend as the best substrate/s for a planted tank? I promise you'll all get photos as soon as it all get's going... I also have a sketch/plan I will post ASAP!

I will be keeping Crystal Red and Crystal Black shrimp in the tank... so I am aiming to create a pretty epic landscape for them.