konnyaz

breeding colonies together

Hi All,

So I am still new to the Breeding game and find myself asking the question what fish can go with what and not cross breed in a breeding tank?

Currently have numerous colony but find myself running out of tank room wishing I could put other ones in but scared that they will breed with each other.

Is there a list of fish that can go in the same tanks that wont breed with each other?

May be a stupid post but hey I thought I would ask the questions.

Thanks All...

Short answer is that virtually all Malawi African Cichlid species have the potential to cross-breed. As you are new to breeding the only 100% certain way to ensure it does not happen is by keeping one species per tank.

Never keep more than 2 species in a tank.

I normally pick a rock dwelling species (mbuna) with an open water fish (hap). You dont get 2 competing zones.

I normally try to pick fish with different coloration and especially different patterning. Dont put circle markings with circle marking, stripes with stripes etc

Also grow your fry to a reasonable size before sale and look at every fish that has spawned.

None is right though, being new you are better off with one colony (per tank). Breed them a few times, look at what the fry look and are supposed to look like and then weigh up your options.

but there r some that u can have in with each other eg e/blue and white nights

Still tho.... its like keeping normal and albino catfish together.

If you are willing to.... ahem... finish off mistakes.... then as long as every combo produces obvious hybrids then you should be fine.

Prob is fish like electric yellows that often produce pretty legit looking fry.... and because of demand breeders can be tempted to sell as pure.

Dont mix species if the thought of killing 1 month old fish is disturbing to you.