Marty93aus

Advice on building a FW sump

Hey

Im building a 1200x1200x600H 10mm Acrylic tank and I would like to incorporate a 1200x600x600H sump with it.

I have some some sketches of how I would like to build it, but I've never built one before and I don't how it would go. Some things I'm not sure about are:

-what size pump I'll need

-what size air pump I'll need

-media to go in the sump and in what order

-what size pipe from the over flow box

I also don't really know if my overflow box is designed right, along with the sump itself..

Could anyone direct me to a site on how to build and design a sump for my kind of tank, or does anyone have a effective design for my tank, I will quite happily scrap the idea and start again. Nothing has been built yet. I work with acrylic so I can build whatever I need.

The tank will have live plants in it, and a about 20 rainbowfish.

post-16395-14711634080895_thumb.jpg

post-16395-14711634081305_thumb.jpg

post-16395-14711634081716_thumb.jpg

I have always been curious why more tanks are not made from acrylic. From what I have read it is much more expensive is this true?

Have you built acrylic tanks before and is 10mm thick enough for a 600 high tank?

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

The DIY section has a great thread on sumps.

The first thing with a sump is, what type you want, meaning what media are you going to use.

So a fluidised sump, trickle tower, or submerged media.

The general rule is a mech filter, then bio, them chem if wanted.

As to working out pump size, that is reliant a lot on the size and numbe of drain pipes, and return line.

Also what equipment do you want to hide in the sump, heaters, reactors ect.

Have a read through the DIY section to get some ideas

Also add a additional standpipe in the overflow box, consider dorso stand pipes for less noise and In case of blockage.