Small_Fry

filtration ideas for linked ponds.

Hey guy's and gal's.*

Im a newbie here and I'm after some advice on a filtration system for linked ponds.

Im setting up a grow out pond area for my fry. I will have a total of 8 above ground ponds (approx 600-700 Litres each).

My current thought was to fit an over flow drain into 7 of the ponds and run them all back to the 8th pond where i was thinking of using a submersible pump, which then feeds to a pressurized canister style filter and the feed into a pipe which would have a T piece and tap into each pond.

These would be used for juvenile goldfish a few months old.

Any ideas or advice would be appreciated.*

Small quick diagram of what i have planned

Thanks.post-16679-14711634249286_thumb.jpg

I do something similar for goldfish growout using 500L circular tubs and introduce water at an angle to spin crap into the center. With a bottom taking central drain (using 2 PVC standpipes) so all the crap is automatically removed.

I remove most of the mechanical waste with a self cleaning sieve and use a home made floating fluidised bed for biological filtration. Back up is provided by air into each of the tubs to turn over/oxygenate water if there is a power failure as my air will remain on for 18 hours if electrical power fails. I add a large sponge to maximise efficient use of air into each tub but use very coarse sponge so it's mostly biological and doesn't need to be cleaned.