I love accidentally stumbling onto Aussie aquarium forums!

I'm very new to fish keeping, and I currently only have a betta + snails in a 28L tank with a whole bunch of plants, but I've been having so much fun! I'm moving to Bris in a few weeks and I'm already excited about finally being able to set up some more aquariums. I doubt I'll venture into anything more than just nano tanks for now, but we will see.

Does anyone have any tips on transporting a planted tank? The trip will likely be a good 5 hours.

For a 28 L tank, i would stop feeding the fish a few days before, wait as close as possible to the move, then drain as much water out as you can. Put the fish into a litre sized bottle (3/4 full for some air) and it should be fine for a few days. Cover plants and substrate with a layer of wet newspaper and keep out of heat. It will also be good for a few days. You can cover the tank top with cling wrap if you need to keep humidity but I wouldnt bother. Don't leave the filter full of water, just keep it damp/cool.

Edited by aquaholic99

Thanks for the welcome guys! I'm looking forward to calling QLD home.

For a 28 L tank, i would stop feeding the fish a few days before, wait as close as possible to the move, then drain as much water out as you can. Put the fish into a litre sized bottle (3/4 full for some air) and it should be fine for a few days. Cover plants and substrate with a layer of wet newspaper and keep out of heat. It will also be good for a few days. You can cover the tank top with cling wrap if you need to keep humidity but I wouldnt bother. Don't leave the filter full of water, just keep it damp/cool.

Ohh the newspaper is a great idea, thanks! My tank has a hood so keeping humidity in shouldn't be a problem. I picked up a 2L watertight jar for my fish and a storage tub I can move my driftwood/anubias in.. I think I'm set!