Sign in to follow this  
magoo16

Hello and Bio Media question

Hi People,

First like to say hello just joined the forum. I'm from the superior state known as NSW ;-p :eyebrows: :eek:just kidding.

I'm in the process of setting up a 5ft brand new tank and have some questions regarding bio media for a new canister filter I'm looking at purchasing (I'm a full time student once again so going to get a sunsun or something similar http://goo.gl/Bgf3P0 would love a fx5 or 6 but $$ is really tight).

Anyway my question is can k1 media be used in a canister filter? If not what do you guys think of lave rock? Is there something better?

Just for your information I currently have a 3ft tank stocked with the following (A biopro 800 L/h filter on it right now)

1x Oscar

1x Australia Bass

2x Empire gudgeons

1x Southern yellowfin Bream (Which I believe is different from the type you get in QLD)

They are all relatively small but I understand they need an upgrade asap (Before anyone ask why the hell I have a Bass with a Oscar I stupidly listened to a LFS that said he always puts Oscars or other Cichlids with Aussie natvies to stop Aussie native fish aggression)

Thanks in advanced

Ah [MENTION=6604]Magoo[/MENTION] you've done it again LOL. Hi mate and welcome as far as I know k1 needs to be tumbled so won't work real good in a canister, as for bio media you can't go past matrix or Marine pure from [MENTION=1338]The Tech Den[/MENTION] they would be my pick for a canister filter