mjbar_1

Filter for new aquarium.

Hi

im just looking for opinions on filter selection for my new aquarium.

Its a 4 x 2 x 2. 400 liters

I have been looking at a fluval 406 and all so one like this

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Aqua-Aquarium-External-Canister-Filter-Fish-Tank-UV-Light-MEDIA-KIT-2000L-H-/131247811389?roken=FmBhRY.

My main concern with the ebay one is reliability and also power usage 55w vs 20w for the fluval.

And with the 406 is it big enough.

I have all so been looking at the eheim professional 2228. But cant find much about it.

I dont have a huge budget as still have to get substrate, plants, lights, fish etc yet.

Is there any suggestion of other filters to look at also.

Thanks mike

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Hi! mjbar_1,

I'm still fairly new to fish keeping, but I have a Fluval 306 and my tank is only 3' (130L). It is working well for me but the flow rate may be not as fast once you cramp it with filter media (like I have). Fluval 406 is supposed to only handle up to 400L tank capacity, so I think perhaps you should consider a filter that can handle more to be on the safe side. I don't know much about Dynamic Power filter, but Eheim is a reputable/reliable brand. The initial cost saving of the cheaper brand may end up being more expensive in the long run. Hope you can find a good deal on an Eheim (consider a used one perhaps?).