Therandal

Looking to start my marine predator tank

Hey guys and gals what's some good predetor fish the tank I'm getting is a curved front 4 1/2 foot rad by 4 foot aquarium it is 1900 L including the sump. I really love emperor Angels, harlequin tusk fish, lion fish, sharks, eels, tangs and some puffer fish. I'm only new to this so would love any advice. My local aquarium is gonna set my tank up so its all good to go. But any advice and tips would be awesome, also from around the Ipswich area so what is your thoughts on best aquariums to purchase my fish from?

What a tank. 

I am only a Noob at marine, despite having kept fresh for a few years.....  I know enough to get myself in trouble. 

I tend to visit a few, and ask questions a lot.  Listen a lot. My goto guys if naming a single store is Pet City.  They will tell you if what you are buying is a problem. 

Hope you start a build thread on this.  I want a predator tank, mainly as I love lion fish. 

Steve

Yeah mate definitely gonna have a few lions in there I love emperor angels and wanna have a harliquin tusk fish to and I really really want a barramundi cod but I think there very very rare 

Hey mate nice looking tank... Heres some suggestions on the fish you have listed: 

first of all if you like the looks of sharks/ rays i would avoid puffers/triggers and even emperor angels can be an issue as they like to peck at the eyes of benthic species. 

As said above if keeping pelagic sharks a larger/ circular tank is needed, however a carpet shark such as epaulette or brownbanded bamboo is fine. 

Good stingray options are bluespot stingrays or mask rays, however these must go into an established tank and they do not handle nitrates well at all, so good nutrient export is essential. Getting them to feed on prepared foods can also be tricky, make sure they are feeding before purchasing them.