chaubii

First attempt at iwagumi style tank hardscape help

Hey everyone,

This is my first attempt at an Iwagumi style tank in my 4ft tank. I still need to save up for an LED light and CO2 set up.

In the meantime I'm trying to different layouts. I'm trying to do two mountains and a valley.

I know iwagumi style tanks are suppose to use only stone as hardscape but I bought this awesome looking bonsai tree and wanted to incorporate it in the landscape.

Let me know which one you like best. Any suggestions would be appreciated as well.

1. 8530d838f05cbccc3294b6ec14da3b1b.jpg

2. 3dc11da9f234fe856e1338151104e488.jpg

3. 54a5068069adaaf37979f260de011c2c.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

yep that's mine, see the diy journal here: 

I spent a few months planning and finding the rocks, the key to this is dont rush just wait for the right rocks and leave it set up for a few days, if your happy with one design after a week thats the one you want to use.

Latest improvements are nice. Try leaning the smaller rocks to point more towards the bigger ones, this makes a more triangular picture and can help to create that 'mountain' feel. There are so many rules to follow with Iwagumi but don't obsess over them too much, just find what you like and run with it. Also suggest having your two sides vary more in height.

Just my two cents. (bout alll it's worth too :) )

It might be best to use the two taller pieces together on one side and the smaller ones on the other side in three. make use of the width of the tank too. Looking good, 

Whats your stocking going to be?

Latest improvements are nice. Try leaning the smaller rocks to point more towards the bigger ones, this makes a more triangular picture and can help to create that 'mountain' feel. There are so many rules to follow with Iwagumi but don't obsess over them too much, just find what you like and run with it. Also suggest having your two sides vary more in height.

Just my two cents. (bout alll it's worth too )