Kingo

Numpty filtration - micro particles

I am a total noob, posting up here as I have exhausted google searches on QLDAF and elsewhere. I have found the problem somewhat often but no one posts later with exactly how they fixed it! 

So, I will start with my model as this may be semi common with Aqua One drip tray filtration systems. I have an AR510 with the stock pump dripping onto 5 layers of media - bio sponge, wool, two layers of dacron and I have had it running around 8 weeks now and have not been able to lose the micro particles. Another forum had a suggestion of much less wool in second layer, change/clean it often (which I have done around every 2-3 days for 2 weeks), no improvement. Added a wee power head for more circulation, no help there. Added Dacron a few weeks back and a second layer of dacron  last week to no avail. I have a very amateur planted tank with a few java ferns, moss carpet, elodea (I know, I know), diy CO2. Stocked with a few guppies, RCS, Pygmy cories, hill stream loach and one lonely endler. 

Params are at NH3 0, NO2 0, NO3 10-20. PH 7.2 ish, TDS 270 odd. Dose with Dino spit and flourish comp at recommended levels..

Water is clear, not cloudy, stock and plants are happy, owner is not. Also PWC 20% weekly, treated tap with prime. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

I'll kick off just so you get some replies coming in. I only have canister / hob / internal filters but have run into the same problem.

From overseas threads, I've gathered that.

Feeding pellets might be less messy than flakes.

Packing in extra filter wool and the filter will get better after several days as it packs down.

Some particles in a planted tank are normal. I take all my photos day after a clean when it looks better.

Seachem clarity may help.

Powerheads will shift particles but then need filter intakes in right spot to get them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk