Hi everyone I am a retired person just starting out with this new hobby.

I have messed around with a couple of very small tanks and have found them very hard to look after. I have had countless problems with several different types of algae and have tried many solutions such as 'otto's, bristlenose, cory's and now flying fox'.

I have been told by many that larger tanks are much easier to manage so I have just purchased 130litre and am in the process of cycling now prior to introducing fish.

Fingers and everything else crossed. I am a real beginner at 70+ years.

Looking forward to enjoying this forum

Cheers  John

@BUGGSWelcome mate, if I was to have stab in the dark at the cause of your issues I would say sunlight on the tank, but without knowing more specifics it’s hard to tell, larger tanks are going to have less rapid fluctuations in water quality and thus easier to maintain, with your smaller tanks did you ever clean the glass manually? What fish are you planning on keeping this time around?

Thanks for your input. Sunlight was not an issue as the tanks were well away from windows. One line of thought was that the airstone I was running was putting too much oxygen in.

I did clean the glass manually at times when I did partial water changes fortnightly.

Hoping for suggestions on which fish to keep.

Thanks again  John.

On 02/05/2018 at 3:00 PM, BUGGS said:

Hi everyone I am a retired person just starting out with this new hobby.

I have messed around with a couple of very small tanks and have found them very hard to look after. I have had countless problems with several different types of algae and have tried many solutions such as 'otto's, bristlenose, cory's and now flying fox'.

I have been told by many that larger tanks are much easier to manage so I have just purchased 130litre and am in the process of cycling now prior to introducing fish.

Fingers and everything else crossed. I am a real beginner at 70+ years.