steven

my hongi is holding

I have a hongi holding been holding for one day the other fish are chasing her shoud I get her out and put her in a hatchery or another tank or just strip her its my first time these fish have held so not quite sure what to do

net hatcherys are 20cmlongx12cmwidex15cmdeep

pls reply fast i don't want her baybys to die or for her to stess out

Sounds like your more worried than she is!!!

If you think shes getting chased too much then yes you should get her out. I wouldn't milk her, especially as she has only been holding for a day. It can be quite tricky artificially hatch eggs, can take quite a bit of trail and error. The other thing you can try is to give the females more places to hide, this is why some people have so many rocks in their tanks.

Matt

i had the same things happen to me over a week ago, hongi girl hideing up the top of the tank getting nailed every time she came down.

Removed her for 10 days into a separate tank and stripped her last night, have i think 9 baby fry with oak sacks sitting in the strainer on a bubler.

Now letting her fatten back up befor returning her to the community tank, i dont like the idea of my girl being in a little net for 10 days :( Seems mean because they love to swi so much :D

just remember that when you go to put them back in with the other fish in the colony she will be like a newbie and the others can pick on them even more that is why i prefer to use traps in their own tank so they are still part of the colony and there is no probs when you release them back to the population jmo

mark

I use a spare tank for females sometimes. Depends on the colony & spare space at the time.

Usually the spare tank has 2-3 girls in there as I may strip 2 one weekend, 1 the next etc. I release them all back in at the same time.