Sign in to follow this  
Finish

Strange white rocks.

I was in a store today and asked about aquarium rocks. The woman showed me some white rocks. To me they looked a bit like the bases of coral outcrops. They had a "sandy" surface texture mingled with some smooth shininess. I asked her if they were for plain-water fish and she said yes. I should have been more specific, but she seemed to understand the question. They were $6 each. I got three, but I haven't put them in yet. Still a bit suss that they're possibly for marine fish. Here's a pic. The furrows or grooves on the surface look like coral rocks I've seen elsewhere. But I'm no expert

What do you guys think?

rockke.jpg

it all depends on what fish you are putting in the tank 

if it is coral or another calcium based rock like texas holey rock it can and will raise your ph and hardness of your water,,,,exactly what you want if you are keeping cichlids

if youre not and are going down the softer acidic water loving fish its not for you 

holey rock ,obviously in larger quantities has the potential to raise and buffer your water to about 8 .2

if not getting cichlids

you really want an inert rock which doesnt leach anything ,as with all river sands/rocks/pebbles that are what most substrates are made from

you can test it by putting it in a bucket and just covering it with water  check ph and hardness of water before putting rocks in, leave it for a week then test the water if the ph and hardness doesnt change all is good

if it does and you dont want ph to go in that direction , put the rock at the front door, leave it there for about 3 weeks ,must be out of direct sunlight so cover it up , after 3 weeks check carefully that the rock hasnt changed at all and hasnt started to soften or crumble...

Then after 3 weeks throw it at the first person that comes to your door selling electricity plans, solar panels or religion or wanting you to donate to some 5th world country 

soft items dont deter anybody