Hi All. I’m in the Brisbane area. My new 6x2x2 set up is almost ready to go. I would love to stock it with some quality Frontosa with the end result being a nice breeding colony. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Hi Wayne,

LLoyd's Bulombora are F1's and 7 bar frontosa.    I'm no expert in lake geography but I'm guessing Kigoma and Bulombora are very close to each other!   I was always of the opinion that the Kigoma were the only 7 bar until I seen the Bulombora.  

Cheers,
Jason 

OK just did a google map search.   Bulombora is just to the south of Kigoma in Tanzania.   I'm guessing same fish... different collection point.   

Could be a way of an exporter to sell as a different location.

Hi Wayne,

OK... this is just my 2c and what I've done hundreds and hundreds of times.   Not saying it's the right way or the wrong way (which more people will agree with) but I've never had an issue.

Tanganyikan cichlids have been my passion since I first moved to brisbane back in 1990.    I've always had plenty of tanks and never enough time.   I'd see something that would come up for sale and not have a tank ready and just buy it.   

Was only monday that I did just that.   Got home from work with the fish, filled an empty tank added some prime and simply added the fish.

I'd much rather do this than have to wait for a tank to cycle and miss out on fish that I wanted.

I just make sure that on all tanks I do this on I do more regular water changes for the first 2-4 weeks.   I usually do about a third every 2nd day.     

Can I ask what filtration you have running on your tank?

Best of luck with your tank.  We all have a lot to learn mate.   I've been keeping Tangs for over 30 years and I've still a lot to learn.   

One thing I have learnt is there are no silly questions.   Feel free to post up or even private message me if you have any questions, happy to help in any small way I can.

Cheers,
Jason