tom_kauf

Hi from Gold Coast Hinterland - struggling with 600L Freshwater Tank

Hi from Jimboomba everyone,
I am not a total newbie, but we built a house 18months ago incl a nice in-wall 600L Freshwater Tank. And lately we've really been struggling with it.
For 8+ years we had a 70L Tank (which didn't survive the move), and we managed fine without major interventions.

For a year or so it looked like this (picture attached) without needing much. Just some Macropore at the start to remove the tannins, plus infrequent partial filter cleans and small water changes. But I was working too much and it got even less attention, and now we have a massive BB Algae breakout and poor water values.
I can post a picture if anyone wants to see the current state – it’s not great.

We have not lost any fish, probably because we have relatively hardy inexpensive fish: Clown Loaches, Bala Sharks, Gouramis, Rainbowfish, Congo Tetras, Glass Catfish, multiple Bristlenose.

It has a sump filter (pictures attached), with mix of Green and Black Sponge in the first 2 sections, then Dacron Filter pad, another Black Sponge and Bags of Ceramic Bio Rings.
Not sure what the substrate is – maybe riverbed gravel.
And various plants and driftwood.

I'd really appreciate some advice  :), because I know I’m in over my head.
Both on the Sump Filter setup which was organised by the builder (if I should change anything), and on solutions to the water readings.

Thank you in advance.

LH Sump.jpg

RH Sump.jpg

Aquarium.jpg

Yesterday’s readings:
pH 6.6
Ammonia 1ppm (that was 0 until a few weeks ago, so I did a partial water change yesterday)
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 160ppm+ (max reading)
Phosphate 5-10ppm