Hi All, my name is John. Thanks for accepting me on the forum. I have been keeping tropical fish on and off for the last 50 years after winning a few guppies at a fete when I was at primary school. We have recently returned to our unit at Woody Point in the Moreton Bay area of Queensland. I have begun to resurrect my 6" x 2" x 2" tank. The tank is planted and the primary focus is going to be about 15 Discus, these beautiful fish will be accompanied by Cardinal Tetras, Rummy Nose Tetras, Sterbai Corys, Peppermint Bristlenose and Clown Loaches. I'm very excited to get my tank up and going and look forward to being a member of the forum. I am currently struggling with Nitrites in the water supplied by Unity Water, details are given in a separate post in hopefully the correct area of the forum.

49 minutes ago, JB said:

Hi John,

Welcome to the forums.  Any plans on where you are going to purchase your discus from?

Cheers,
Jason

Hi Jason, I'm looking around, I'm wanting fish in the 5-7cm range, I prefer to buy small and watch my fish grow. I got 3 Blue Angels from BudH, Holistic Discus on FB, last Sunday, great quality. Would even go down to Gold Coast, saw some stunning fish down there earlier this year. Any suggestions? Cheers John

im an old redcliffe boy, used to keep Discus

we are up past Gympie now and Only keep salty fish

when we had discus up here, we used to age the water in IBC's out the back of the house that worked well

heaps of good places to get Discus from, both shop front and online

enjoy

Hi John,

I'm taking @raycam01_au lead and not name dropping any on here.   I'm not really sure on the etiquette around recommendations that aren't forum sponsors.   I've used both online and stores around the SEQ area.

@The Tech Den always has an assortment of 5cm and 8cm discus in stock and nice and close to Woody Point ;)  

I've sent you a private message in more detail :)

Cheers,
Jason

@raycam01_au  8O this is me eagerly awaiting your list.