Picked up a couple of Yellow Tail Acei (10-12cm) yesterday. Put them in my 4ft (with other africans) After a couple of hours one was fine and the other one just kept flopping on his side on the bottom. I put him in a quarintine tank with some salt and plenty of air and left him over night. This morning he's still flopping over and looks like he doesnt have much control over his body. He is definately alive because if i go to touch him he swims a little.

Any Ideas what might be wrong? and if there is any treatment.

So far i've put some stress guard in the water and a little aquarium salt.

Cheers

Brenton

Sounds like a swim bladder issue......

I had this problem with an Oscar years ago, don't know what tolerence acei have to salt?

But I treated it with a very high concentration salt bath.

It could also be an intestinal blockage, which I used to use shelled blanched green peas. Acts like a laxative for some fish.

I must obsess I have little to no knowledge of this fishes actual condition, I am just guessing. Also the treatments I have described were used on an Oscar, so hence may not be suitable for your acei.....

Hopefully someone who keeps them will come to your aid soon, sorry for not being much help.....

Steve

Improve your quarantine procedures. If it was a contageous disease those practises could wipe out your whole tank.

Start with ensuring water in Q tank is perfect then check this place out to see if you can find the disease

http://www.fishyfarmacy.com/symptoms.html

or issue then ask for help with advice or medications etc. that way a diagnosis may help others to assist you, cause I got nothing on that description, sorry, hope the link helps and you save the fish.

C.

Cheers for the input people.