hey guys just wanted to introduce my self. i do believe ill be spending a lot of time here since i discovered it.

i myself am farily new to aquariums and fish keeping but am fast growing into a fanatic. started off with a small 30L tank with some platys mollies and tetras but i soon got tired of it and ventured out into the world.

i had been told and seen Oscars and was really keen on them but due to budget restraints i couldn't get a tank that would be accommodating. instead i set for African cichlids. i love the colors and behaviour that they show.

my tank is ~40gallon which i rockscape'd a background myself and built my own stand

current stock is: 3x electric yellows, 3x johanni, 1x maingano, 3x "zebra's" (shop said crimson tides but i see no crimson), 3x otter point peacocks and 1 Nimbochromis venustus

as im fairly new to this im always wondering if i am doing the right things and have the right setup. the tank is filtered by a 1200l/hr canister with wool/bio noodles/carbon in that layerd order, heater is set to 27/28 degrees C. Ph is about 7, nitrite 0ppm, nitrates 40ppm, ammonia between 0-0.25ppm and hardiness 180. i do weekly water changes and feed them high vegi flakes and clichid excel pellets. every now and again i treat them to a bloodworm tab or some guppu/shrimp fry i catch down the local creek.

so here's some photos let me know what you think and if im doing anything wrong. and i look forward to been a part of this forum

xbbgop.jpg

of8t5j.jpg

5egvno.jpg

crappy digital camera so not the best pic's

Hi dekes and welcome to the forum

I am also new to keeping fish and have also just set up an Malawi African Cichlid tank.

I would double check about the blood worms, as I was reading a book on the Malawi Cichlids and it said to steer clear of blood worms as it

could cause stomach problems. So maybe hold off on those until one of the experience Malawi Cichlid members possibly could let us

both know if it is ok or not.