WhoWeR

Axolotol help

I am babysitting a friend's axolotol and I have no idea about these things. Anyway i have the tank that he has been in and he's all set up again but he's just not happy.

He seems to be floating tail up and can't seem to stay down. Is that a normal behaviour? I rang my friend and she said he has done that before but not as bad as this. Could he have air trapped inside as he keeps gulping air. Do they have swim bladders the same as other fish?

Thanks for any advice

Jenny

Does he have any fungus forming anywhere?

When I worked in a shop we got a bad lot with fungus on furry gills.

Everytime I have seen this the Axel conked it within 2 weeks..but hey that could just be bad luck with bad order.

Also they do not like heated tanks. maybe try to hand feed some blood worm.

I'm no expert with these guys and personally dont like em but hope this helps even a little. Roo is google like source of knowledge with these guys as he had some the size of small cats..lol

matt

Try this site, Jenny. I've only looked over the introduction and can not guarantee it has the information you need, but links in the text direct you to sites on specific topics.

My axolotls began to float not long before they died. I was told the temperature got too high for them in summer.

Good luck with yours.

http://www.axolotl.org/

O thanks Matt throw me in to the deep end lol

Ya thats right axles like cool water so no heater needed

And axles have bad eye sight so they need a fine gravel

Passing large pebbles can be a problem

I would add a small amount of ebson salts to the water

that my help

And there dirty things so weekly water changers are good

I fed mine pellets and they did ok on them

Roo

Thanks for the help guys

There is not fungus on him, so that's good.

I had a quick read through that site and it maybe that he as swallowed to much air and needs to burp or needs to take a dump.