chels1289

Tankmates for electric blue jack dempsey?

Hi all!

I have one Electric Blue Jack Dempsey in a 3 foot tank (160lt) and I'm looking for some tank mates for him.

I've had him in with 4 other ebjds but sold them off one by one over the last few months and ended up keeping the biggest most aggressive (and pretty) one. He is nearly 10cm now. He is also in with 2 clown loaches who are a tiny bit bigger than him. They get on very very well.

I know my Africans but I'm only new to Americans and not sure what I'm looking for- so hopefully someone can help me out here

I guess I'm looking to get maybe 6-8 small fish that are quick, hardy, school, swim around the middle/top, and big enough that the ebjd won't eat them.

I want the ebjd to be my feature fish. I just want these to add some movement in the tank as the loaches are only out half the time.

Bright colours are good - the orange of the loaches look so good against the blue of the ebjd.

Suggestions would be very helpful! Thanks!

http://www.qldaf.com/vbb/showthread.php?33968-My-Beautiful-Electric-Blue-Jack-Dempseys-%29&p=199609#post199609

Thats got one new pic Sarah :)

I haven't had much time to take many but you can see how his fins have changed and he's a little lighter now - losing some of his black spots.

I've noticed he gets a lot darker when he's eating - must be happy :) haha.

I'll try and get some more for you soon.

Do you have any good ones of your special bubs you kept? x

A pair or trio of some sort of Geophagus, they always look awesome sifting through the substrate. Not too aggressive either. I'd go with Brasiliensis.

I do love geos - but I think they would grow too big wouldn't they?

I'm only looking for something that grows to about 5cm..

hey chels fantastic to see him growing up. ive only got one little male left who was the pick of the spawn. hes coming along nicely but his colours