goldenswimmers

Hey Guys...new to Marines and am wondering about collecting your own from the sea!!!!

Hey Guys,

I am new to Marine set ups and was wondering about collecting fish from the ocean(obviously nothing large as I respect their freedom and also nothing that clashes like predatory,etc and based on aquarium restrictions)...I am wondering about the legal side of collecting small guys from the ocean,etc...is this legal?...if so what are the restrictions etc?....is a permit required?....some of the better beginner fish to admire /look after?....thanks guys and also any warnings...things I could avoid without learning the hard way!!!....cheers guys and am all ears!!!!!

There are restrictions, but not really with anything you're probably after. Before the change over to this new forum there was a group that dive on some reefs on the gold coast and sunny coast that post pic's of everything they catch and they do it legally. I'll have a look through my favourites, I think I have there website. But do be careful of what you do take i.e live rock etc. A lot of members collect stuff and then post on here what they took, good way of getting into trouble.

Also make sure you have your tank all set up and running with no N02, N03, and NH3/NH4. I've only just started my marine tank, I was lucky as I transported it and kept all water, live rock, substrate and filter material so tank was established. Checked readings for a few weeks and had nothing then started adding fish and more live rock slowly.

71681_455195496987_667476987_5350310_7489448_n.jpg

76924_459231321987_667476987_5425823_3767881_n.jpg

As for catching fish, I have tried but have been unsuccessful, going to ballina in the near future becasue in the shallows I have seen Damsels, I think blue chromis which are a good beginner fish. I also found that you need to read up on the fish you want eg, I have a dwarf bi-colour angel and in my size tank I can only have 1 because they get aggressive to there own kind.