hi...calling all the x-pert.

i'm a newbie, i have an american display tank. my big oscar has some tiny growth on the base of the fins for awhile and now its spreading throughout, and starting losing some of the membrane (some due to fighting but the rest are due to this whittish growths). normally they grow back quickly, but not now

and now my devil and especially all my fenestratus having similar symptoms. one day i saw the base of the largest fennie's fin turn red..(like bleeding)

did water change... dose em up with everything from multi cure , rapid white spot remedy, salt, fungus cure didnt seem to do any good... look up on the net, no similar diseases.. will post pics tomorrow. thanks heaps

Have you tested you water? ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph etc. A lot of fishy problems come from the water. If you don't have the test kits then take a sample of water down to your local fish shop.

I hope you didn't put all the treatments in together, as that would stress your fish more than help them.

Have changed the tank around lately? added something new, taken something out? How and when did you last clean the filter? What type of filter?

Are you fish still eating ok? swimming ok?

hey guys my ph is about 7.5 the guy at the lfs said the nitrate is quite high as well, didn't give me any number though..he also told me to feed my fish garlic...has anyone heard bout this method?

i actually put in a brand new tank with all new water plus conditioner and i did clean the filter using tapwater is 2400ltrph cannister by the way. vacuum the gravel before transfering them, add a pair of blackbelt, salt, couple of claypot stipped all the palstic plants and driftwoods...

the end result... 400ltr tanks, big cannister filter, 2 claypots which were in the old tank, pair of devils, pair of blackbelt, 5 fennies,large male oscar and a pleco..but that was 2 months ago..