Hi all!

I am quite new to fish keeping and the forum (and Qld itself) so I guess I should introduce myself!

My name is Eden and my lovely boyfriend got me a 2.5ft fish tank for my birthday/christmas last year. I am already super addicted to the hobby (I've already spent many times what the tank cost :P) and not long after ended up buying a second 2ft tank on a whim, though I was always planning on getting a second tank for quarantine.

My question is in regard to where to put the second tank. I was wanting to have it in our study and due to space issues and just generally liking the idea, I was thinking of putting it on my desk. Thing is, this will place it right in front of the window.

It's south facing with an overhang so I don't think it gets direct sunlight. If I put a background on the tank, will this necessarily be a problem location?

I know lots of people advise against putting a tank in front of a window, is this just because of the potential algae issues?

I guess there's also the worry of it getting too hot but as there's no direct sunlight I'm hoping I could get away with some reflective backing on the other side of the tank background to help with that.

Advice and experiences much appreciated, lovely to meet you all! :egrin:

hey edan, sounds like your on the rite track, i have a tank the same position as you and nver had a problem, just try gurd it from direct sunlite, hope the forum is a help to you

welcome aboard.

a 2.5ft is a good size to start with, what do you have in it if I may ask?? and your 2ft aswell?

the location on the desk sounds fine, if its facing south it shouldnt get any direct sun at all. a thermometer in the tank will be a good way to keep an eye on things.

I think you will algae in your tank no matter what. what tank lighting you have will affect this too. I dont mind it actually, makes the tank look natural and no need for a background haha.