nativecollector

Look what I'm building... 2' Cube Cabinet

Whilst we're all doing the 'look at me and how good I am' threads, I thought I better join in and throw up some snaps of a little project of my own.

Keep in mind while viewing, I'm a draftie and this is my first attempt at building anything since I knocked together a wooden AK-47 (my pride and joy) when I was 8. I usually draw these things with no hope of making them. I'm reasonably happy with the progress, but lets be honest... it's a bit rough.

Materials:

15 odd metres of MGP10 90x35 and 70x35 - solid as a brick out house

A crud load of screws

Some 20 year old wood glue that was rather chunky

Coupla sheets of the thinnest and cheapest ply available

An veneered cupboard door the old man picked up on a reno

A door catch I flogged off the old ladies dresser (she still hasn't noticed)

Tank:

2x2x2 in 10mm glass, beveled edges, 3x35mm drilled holes

Sump & Plumbing:

$10 garbage bin from bunnings and some 77c buckets

2000L pump

25mm bulkheads and stainless strainers

PVC overflow

Poly inlet

PVC overflow

Lighting:

2' T5 lighting (4 tubes)

Now for the pics - constructive criticism welcome... It's not finished yet, still needs: sanding, painting, cleaning etc.

DSCF5543.jpg

SDC10004-3.jpg

SDC10001-2.jpg

SDC10046.jpg

Edited by nativecollector

don't mean to be picky mate but your tanks are back the front I think....The blue part and plumbing is supposed to go to the back not the front - Can't see your fish lol

Well done bud - Looks great

I'm really no builder or anything - I'm a cab driver. I honestly know nothing about making things but its all about having a go :)

don't mean to be picky mate but your tanks are back the front I think....The blue part and plumbing is supposed to go to the back not the front - Can't see your fish lol

Well done bud - Looks great

I'm really no builder or anything - I'm a cab driver. I honestly know nothing about making things but its all about having a go :)