I've decided I'd finally like to jump in and try cichlids. I've been browsing google a lot but it's a lot of info to take in, takes a while to find (I should be studying, not reading about fish :P) and I figured you guys were the best to ask anyway.

SO! Details. I have a new 3ft tank that I'd be looking to put them in. I'm new-ish to keeping fish.... I feel confident enough generally but I wouldn't like anything especially finicky. I think I read something about Africans being better for my scenario but feel free to correct me. Being a student I can't afford super expensive fish, and I'd like to get more experience before splashing out anyway. I also don't have the space for breeding or a bigger set up.

I'd prefer interesting-looking fish or fish with great personalities (who doesn't?), and if possible a mix would be way more preferable than a species tank. I think that about covers it. Please give me some suggestions for stocking!

there are some good cookie cutter setups suitable for the the not-so-experienced here:

Aquarium Quick Reference Resources - Cichlid Keeping

they are a good starting point and help to avoid issues such as agression, overstocking etc.

there also is some fairly good general reading about setups and species to be found there

most important thing make sure you have sufficient filtration and do your water changes - but you probably have been told that multiple times already, and if not you will be :D

yep africans are cheap and theres heaps around. good to start with.

my advice would be to get some Saulosi and Maingano. Or have a species tank of Neo. Brichardi if you want some tangs.

You'll pay approx $4 for 4cm fry from members on here.

You should overstock to control aggression with the mbuna so as regani said you'll need good filtration (something high flow with a good volume of media) to counter balance this.

good luck :) and have fun.