kasman

What do you keep your nitrates below??

Depends on the tank.... but I try for below 40ppm as a rule on freshwater.

Less on breeding tanks (to trigger spawns) or fry growout tanks (they grow faster in low nitrates) or aggressive displays (because high nitrates turns them into murdiddly-urderers!)

Once it gets to 80ppm you know you have been too lazy OR that mulm is building up in gravel or filter.

Reef tanks I like 0.5ppm, but then I always did like disneyland

Well to fill in the story....

Iv got 40+ mbuna in my 4x18x18, all about 4-5cm.

Iv figured out that how many I keep all depends on what kind of water changes Im willing to do to get my nitrates to an acceptable level.

it was 5ppm on Tuesday, today its 10ppm. This is my first time testing so Im interested to see what its rate of increase is.

what food are you feeding?

Nitrate production is in a small way related to how much of the food a fish is able to digest. Interestingly, a fish fed the same diet will get better and better at extracting nutrition from it over time and excrete a smaller % as waste.

but I salute your technique

I do something very similar to work out my water change routine on quite a few tanks.

NLS with some frozen bloodworms.

hmm, thats an interesting thought with the food.

Similar thing with our dog, we used to buy him Eukanuba which was meant to limit the amount of waste and smell due to its high nutritional content. Because I like everyone else have got better things to do other than clean up dog poop. it worked too.

But he's on cheap stuff now cuz we cant afford it, and yes you can notice the difference lol.

So I never would have thought same with fish, but yes of course.

Well to fill in the story....

Iv got 40+ mbuna in my 4x18x18, all about 4-5cm.

Kasman,

JMO, but I reckon that's to many. Not saying ya wont keep em healthy in there, but dont believe you"ll get ya nitrates to an äcceptable" level with that many fish in that amount of water.

Brendan

Kasman,