Hi all, I'm a noob in every way, I have not had and aquarium b4 and it is something I have always wanted to do. So after much reading up, I have decided to go with a set up of African Cichlids. I have just brought my tank and I am on my way to starting up so i will have lots of questions for those who are willing to share their knowledge.

here is my new tank... Pic from when the previous owner had it operational... right now its empty, it is 5ft x 2ft x 18in

Resized640x480_FRESH22.jpg

Welcome aboard.

Thats a great sized tank for africans. And a great sized first tank.

You have lots of stocking choices for sure.

Take your time in setting up, Im sure you'll enjoy it.

Welcome mate!

There are heaps of people on here that can help with advice on everything from start to finish, be patient, don't rush into throwing heaps of fish straight in and do all the research you can, knowledge is what will keep your fish alive.

Best of luck!

Hi all, thanks for the warm welcome.

Well I have blown my tank start up budget already...LOL so things will be moving slow now anyway.

so far I have cleaned out the tank thoroughly using white vinegar and water and then rinsing 3 times till water was clear and no smell of the vinegar. Now the tank has been sitting empty and dry for the last few days. I have brought some pool filter sand and have yet to wash it, I am holding off as I know I will want to put it straight in the tank when I have cleaned it, but I am waiting for hubby to bring home some Styrofoam so I can put that under the sand where the rocks will go to protect the tank form the fish digging them unstable.

I have collected a few rocks from my horses paddock as I thought that would be a special link between my fish hobby and my first love of horses, so it will be nice to watch the fish hide in the rock from my horses paddock. They have been scrubbed are are right now sitting in a sanitising solution to make sure there are no nasties.

here is a pic of the rocks