Sign in to follow this  
mhkirk

Starting my first Fish Tank.... Help?

Hello all

I have just baught a 3 foot fish tank (900x300x460) (124L) and i am yet to buy all the stuff.

I went to about 5 pet shops on saturday just to get info and prices on stuff and all they did was give me different answers.....

So firstly the filter 3 shops said i can use a in tank filter (35$) and another two places said i need a canister filter (130$) there is a big price difference for a beginer.... will the 35$ in tank filter do? on the box it said it does up to 150L there is a larger in tank filter too for like 40$ that does 200L i think?

heater i was just going to buy a 150watt heater, and Gravel is just from the pet shop... then of course some type of ornaments. Lights no problem (im an electrician) ill jsut grab 1 from work change the bulb to an aquarium light.

Have i go the right idea? am i missing something can anyone help me with what my filter should be?

i also kno i have to cycle my tank (6-8 weeks), got the stuff to do that, master test kit thingy, borrowing from a mate, he never used...

Thanks

Miles

hey miles,

ok well with the filteration it all depends on what fish you are putting in the tank and how much you are stocking the tank.

the internal filter does not really offer to much space for beneficial bacteria. however you could get away with using one if the tank was stock lowish (example 1 pair of bristlenose or some guppies). however if you were looking at going this way, i would also add a sponge filter as well. these are about $8 each, you will need a small air pump to run it about $15 (i think).

i used to run all my tanks only on sponge filters, my tanks were stocked with all bn and heaps of fry. however i have since run all my tanks with canistor filters, wow the difference is great. i always thought that they were too expensive but now will not have a tank without one.