Whats the story with that common brown/green algae you see on all marine tanks ("insert smart a55 reply about your tank being free from it here")....

What causes it? Has it more to do with lighting, or water parametres such as phosphate, or something else all together? Someone gimme the low down on how to best deal with it in both Canistered and sumped aquariums. Some natural treatments, as well as as prescribed medication would be great if anyone knows any?

I've got the same problem as well at the moment. Went to a lfs today and was told that sometimes it can be high nitrate at the end of a cycling period, high phosphate levels or lighting. I'm only new to marine myself but my best info would be:

If it's nitrate (which will be feeding it) the best thing to do is test your water, find out if that's it and then do water changes to aid in taking it out, if its a cycling tank then don't stress as this is just the end of your cycling period and the algae will die off as it's food source dies out (the nitrate).

If it's phosphates (also feed algae and you can also test for), then some macro algae in your sump is a good natural removal of phosphate or otherwise a phosban reactor (i think they're called) which is a mechanical way to remove phosphates

If it's lighting it's pretty simple, in a cycling tank with only live rock just turn the light off for a while (it won't harm your live rock for a ages) and that will control it. In a fish stocked or reef tank you just need to cut your hours back (I had mine on around 9-10 day and now brought it back to 7).

Anyway, hope that helps I noticed no one had replied and even though I'm a newbie I hoped I could help :) lol, good luck

No algae at all?

What about on the glass you never clean like the sides and rear and between coralline algae on the other glass walls, the ones that are not cleaned as well?