Hennessy

My 1st Marine (Journal)

My first attempt at marine and Im trying to keep maintenance down so the system ain't huge. It will be a 4ft tank, 50cm wide and 65cm tall, and will be built by Dennison (@ Maryannes) as soon as his thumb heals. Stocking with heaps of cool soft and hard corals...... and not too many fish.

LED lighting is on the cards but I'm going to try some chinese made cheapies first which apparently still cover the right spectrum and create decent wattage - we'll see though. These arrive Wednesday - pics to follow.

The sump in the pic is an old 3ft tank (Freebie) which I have basically covered in silicone and added some baffles. It's my first time building a sump, or even working with Silicone on glass so its a bit messy and Im not particularly proud of it, but at least it will be hidden. I'm sure you can all provide some feedback about my sump design - and hope you do. My main 2 complaints are:

1) I should have made the chamber A (prefilter) smaller to allow more room for chamber B (Bio).

2) The floor baffle between chamber A & B is tall enough for the planned miracle mud in chamber B - but if I wanted to try a DSB filter in there instead, it wont be tall enough so Ive limited my options a bit here.

My favourite part about it is the platform there will be between chamber B & C for Chemical media. Enough room for 2 small bags of whatever and easily interchangeable.

As can be seen Ive already got an Eden 5000lph pump, although I'm not sure if this will be big enough for the planned 450l load (including sump water). There will be at least one more powerhead in the DT, more likely two. The dodgy skimmer in the pic was a freebie as well, but no matter what sort of pump I plug into it, I cant get it to function well (bubbles don't look anywhere near fine enough) - so I will probably fork out for a new one. I also bought a Hailea HC1000 for $150 the other day (!!!!), but haven't picked it up yet.