I have a fish tank in my room. im getting my room painted in a week. what i want to know is if paint fumes affect fish? because I have the air pump in my room it means the fumes will be getting pumped into my tank. in my tank i have 5 baby discus. should i move my tank? it will be hard to move, or does anyone know if paint fumes affect fish

thx

aagroves

I'd say it won't kill them the paint should

Only smell bad for about 4 hrs you can get

Waterbased gloss (it's crap) but oil is still

The norm ask the painter (nicely) if he can

Gloss out your whole room first first thing in

the morning just explain it's cause of your

Fish. If you asked me I'd do it (I'm a painter)

Oh and about your window you only need to

get the airline through pump can sit outside

With extension lead

FJ

If you had a say in it you could had oppt for a enviro paint something with a low voc count! if the painter had a qlue he would use an acrylic enamel for the wood work, no fumes at all with the paints i just recommended! as a painter i have had no problems with fish and fumes... but if you are worried you can cover the tank with a plastic drop sheet from the base of the tank create a bubble with the sheet, try to tape the sheet all around the base and leave the air pump in the bubble and try not to leave any openings as one drop of paint in the water will kill your fish.

Good luck!

Hangon.... Is the air pump running sponge filters or just an airstone?

If just an airstone and you have other filtration ie sump or internal filters, just turn the airpump off for the day.

Hangon.... Is the air pump running sponge filters or just an airstone?

If just an airstone and you have other filtration ie sump or internal filters, just turn the airpump off for the day.

Good point

If it is a sponge filter most powerheads

Fit on the up lift tube and if your worried

About the washing machine effect turn

The powerhead to the corner of the tank

You can also use an internal filter just