the German

diy huge fliuid bed fillter

this is my first attempt at building a fluid bed filter .i decided to build one as the ones you buy are to small to really do a large system .i only use these for purigen as thay give it great water coverage.any way hear is what i did . i got 90mm clear acrylic at 1m long then got 1 end cap and a screw on end cap with sleeve you allso need to get some fittings that fit in the end cap for a in and out bulkheads would be great but there's no room for them so hears what i used

fluidbedfillter002-1.jpg

fluidbedfillter001-1.jpg

fluidbedfillter006-1.jpg

then you need to drill the end cap and put the fitting threw i used aquarium silicon on all the fitting it might not be pretty but i hate leaks

fluidbedfillter006-1.jpg

then glue your end caps on to the tube and let dry for a few days

fluidbedfillter008-1.jpg

you also need to add a tube on the in coming water so that it travels to the bottom first then put the hole thing together

fluidbedfillter013-1.jpg

Very nice construction there.

What i need to is where exactly you plumb it into the system.

In the return to the sump or in the fill line.

I noticed you have a tap to regulate flow into it.

Oh and where you got the clear 90 mm pipe from.

Cheers JP

Someone who will remain nameless did a similar thing and has had me intrigued since, hence I remember this thread well. I think you ripped off his idea...lol

http://www.qldaf.com/forums/product-diy-technical-discussion-11/rocken-purigen-57718/

Can you give a comparison between the Boyu, Otto and your DIY one in regards to flow, media holding and performance. It would seem you are the best person to ask..

shore can. the boyu

picofnov058.jpg

and the otto

picofnov077.jpg