pk333

Hybridisation & Mixing New Bloodlines.

Hello peoples

Let me start out by saying that I am not a scientist or biologist, have little or no knowledge of DNA and therefore anyone who likes can dismiss my ramblings as just that, ramblings of an oft disillusioned hobbyist.

Ok a little background about myself.

My parents used to keep and breed Oscars, Blue acaras and Red Forest Jewels (as well as guppies, mollies and platys) in the 70's and early 80's when I was a kid. We moved house in the mid 80's and they sold all their tanks.

I got back in to the hobby about 5 years ago, and after 2 years dabbling with various SA cichlids, found that I really liked keeping and trying to breed dwarf cichlids.

I can't speak for what the hobby was like in 70's and 80's as I was a kid, and apart from helping dad with water changes, I spent more time playing down the local creek than I did paying too much attention to what my parents were doing. But I do know there was not as much information available to my parents as what we have available to us today.

Edited by pk333

I have many pet hates about the hobby, one being, walking in to a LFS and seeing fish labeled incorrectly, either with an incorrect scientific or common name or with an old and now outdated name. Sometimes it's seeing 3 different species of fish all labeled the same, for example 3 different species of Geophagus all labled as Surinamensis. Or 3 different line bred forms of Apistogramma macmasteri labeled as "wild caught" viejita or "gold" viejita. Or seeing a Gold Saum labeled as a Rivulatus or Green Terror "Rivulatus".

In each case there is a 99.99% chance that the fish are truely labeled incorrectly.