jason v

L number breeders please help

catfish breeders please help

I am breeding peppermint BN and my tanks are getting infested with snails and my young are dying off quickly!!!! Is it because of the snails or the zucchini iam feeding them.

Can you please tell me how to get to get rid of the snails.

And what is the best food to feed the fry

Can you treat potassium permanganate with l numbers as i have 8 tanks running of 1 sump!

thankyou jason

I'm no expert (especially compared to some ppl here but...)

I would not treat snails with anything that has copper in it or most snail treatments can kill catfish... I think it says on the bottle

also mortality in catfish fry can be very high in the early days as they can get all sorts of parasites and lack a natural enviroment to sustain new life...

there are treatments that I can't recall but they help reduce gill flukes and other parasites

this keeps a lot of the young fry alive until they develop immune system by eating parents poo to get gut flora beneficial to them

I would isolate and start google search

hope this helps

J

There is not a lot that you can do as there will be eggs everywhere - in the plumbing and in the sump and unless you plan on taking all the fish out and treating the system they are something that you can control but very difficult to eliminate..

As for the starving try the powder formula as it sinks and covers the bottom of the tank and allows the fry to find the food rather than starving. Still use zucchini as bn's still need fiber in their diet and zucchini is a good source for it.

Catfish Food

Keep an eye on your water and nitrates. Once all those little mouths start eating, the pollution starts coming out the other end. Multiply that by how many fry you have and it can very quickly send you water bad. Lots of smaller water changes. Yeah I know its a pest but the fry will thank you for it.