chronic

Aquaponics with ornamental fish??!

I've been stuffing around with 'aquaponics' for a couple of years, here are some pics (excuse the messy yard).

Ive hooked up a solar panel to a 12v car battery that runs a 12v dc water pump on a timer. (flood and drain). It drains back into the bottom through the gravel and plants which oxygenates and cleans the water.

I have Silver Perch in there and im really sick and tired of how slow they are growing. Ive had them in there comming up to a year and a half. mind you I have grown heaps of veggies ! Soo I figured if I forget about trying fish I can eat, how about fish I could breed?

How can I heat the water?

OR

What fish could handle cold temps (in qld)

Cheers

Chronic

post-3476-14711627243514_thumb.jpg

post-3476-14711627243678_thumb.jpg

post-3476-14711627243811_thumb.jpg

post-3476-14711627243967_thumb.jpg

post-3476-14711627244119_thumb.jpg

You would be a bit limited to either natives - rainbows might be nice or ya guppies, swordtails.

Heating can be too hard basket other than your hothouse style but be too hard to hold the heat over night. Will keep an eye on the thread as I am interested.

Procull would be good to hear from too with this.

At least summer is coming for a short term solution.

that might work but keeping the temp drop at night at bay would be hard, especially if its cloudy during the day. I have heard of people who bury their IBC's useing the ground as a insulator but that calls for some extreme digging :(

i have rosy barbs in my aquaponics system.The main reason is because the system is built with blue 200ltr drums and it would't house bigger fish.

i have heard of people having compost heaps near there systems with black poly pipe coiled at the bottom to pump the water through.

i would be looking at how heavly stocked your system is and and feeding rates , you should be able to get silvers to plate size easly in 12 months ,