Atkinson

Advice on starting a salt water tank

Hi all I'm new to this, I'm looking at starting a salt water tank.

i won't a tank with fish and coral.

I'm just after any advice and a brake down on a set up.

I won't to get a 6 foot tank just a bit Nervous on it all.

Thanks

Firstly,can you do anything with glass and are you prepared to work the glass your self for the exits and pre filters and external bio filter-sump.This will save you a lot of money!

Things to buy, if you have the aquarium already then these costs are around what you would-be looking at.

· The following are the bulk of what you need to have all marine life forms exist easily. After what follows, the rest are bio media, pipes, filter wools, tubes,algae and silicon and so and so on.

Okay you need-

· Specific gravity tester. Some will say to get a refractometry and why not if you want one, but it is not necessary, if your waters are between 23c to 27c the specific gravity tester is always accurate to half a point.

· Test kits for nitrite during cycling, nitrate for down the track, phosphate, PH, alkalinity for always and testing for ammonia is useless if you make up or buy or collect your water correctly and your bio filter is done right.

· A chiller that can handle at least a six foot tank, there is the sump water as well to cool.

· Two high wattage heaters.

· LED lighting of a simple on off 80 degree blue and white 3 watt diode type from china maybe, three panels $500 to $600 all up will sustain all types of corals for a six by two by two-foot tank.

· Circulation pumps and return pump, age of aquariums would be best suited to answer that. You will need wave maker style propeller pumps of at least two, one each end and best to have another, possibly one dead centre on always in the aquarium and one return pump of no less then 3 thousand litres per hour.