Bclews

Fresh from the coast!

Hey guys im a newbie to keeping fish but I do have a strong interest in it I'm about to purchase a tank and will run it with plants and cichlids. I am struggling with the choice to get a 4 or a 3 foot tank. I am from the sunny coast!

Edited by Bclews

The bigger the better,wont be long before u want

a bigger one.I went from small to 2ft to 4ft to 6ft.

Have decided not to get anymore due to power bill.

Once u catch the fish bug its hard to give up like smoking.

What type of cichlid u thinking african or american.

Welcome to the forum, Plenty of sunny coasters on here

African are GREAT,

When buying a tank the bigger is better. Most people don't understand this but the bigger the tank the easier they are to maintain.

I started off with a 3ft tank as well. Very happy with it, but I am already planning on moving up and getting a larger tank. I feel with this hobby bigger is better and as the others have said, it IS easier to maintain larger tanks "The solution to pollution is dilution".

Anyway, welcome to the forum! I hope you enjoy your stay :).

Cichlids and plants offer some unique challenges....... dwarfs not so bad, but a lot of the Africans can be destructive when interested or bored lol.

Funnily read another post earlier on this.

Kudos to the Capitán

It can be done, and done very well.

2 examples with links. And a 3rd from another forum.

Travis_19.jpg

Yellow Fin Pseudotropheus demasoni - Aqua Botanic's Aqua Bloggin

240Tanganyikan_060113.jpg

Aquaworld Aquarium - Lake Tanganyika Tank at Aquaworld Aquarium

and

75G061906.jpg

I have a 3ft long and 2ft tall show aquarium with 35 fish mostly Africans and I want a 8ft tank

Africans get big but you can defiantly fit more Africans then americans as the big Americans are highly agressive

I'm new too but have spent 2yrs researching plants, substrates and fish compatibility

It's not easy and most give up.. So if your serious get onto google and don't stop.