Bud_da_stud

Africans vs Americans

Hi everyone I'm almost ready to start buying fish for my tank. I'm new to chiclads I'm after people's opinions on Americans v Africans

What are the pros and cons of both? Which would you choose and which fish would u recommend?

Thanks

chic lads

A new one.

Love it!

That aside, how big is the tank?

needs to be big for yanks!

depends what you want to keep.

what i advise is you have a squizz arround the net, and find pictures and info on the fish you like

come back and tell us what you are interested in then that gives a better chance of finding something you like

theres a lottttt of africans..

How many fish could I fit in a tank of this size

Hey mate I set up an African tank in January, its 6x2x2. I have about 18 in there and I reckon I could fit another 10 no worries, I used white sand substrate and some dead coral I collected down moreton bay. It looks sick, with Africans make sure you have a good filter as there a bit messy and keep the water changes up. Also a good light will really bring out there colours, here's what I put in mine so far...

2 electric yellow

2 female solousi

1 male solousi

1 electric blue peacock

1 male venestus

2 red zebras

2 lithobates

1 rusty peacock

2 yellow peacocks

1 cobalt blue

1 maingano

1 flameback

1 crimson tide

1 dragon blood peacock.

Maybe google a few of these and see what you like. Here's an old photo of mine, I'll put up some more after I give tank a clean.post-10831-1471163106461_thumb.jpg

can you collect coral like that "legally"?

I think you can if its for personal use, a council/fisheries guy said g'day to me as I was collecting it. I think he would of said something if I was in the wrong

6x2x1.5. More after something that's gonna look good lots of colour and active fish

I would look into a lovely lush green planted tank full of rainbow fish or large schools of brightly coloured south american tetras. Just one or two species, not small numbers of everything.