bazz

Neolamprologus similis Community Tank?

Hi Guys,

I have a 4X2X2 tank with 9 Neolamprologus similis in, I purchased them from discus_noob (adam). They hover above the shells all day so there is ample swimming space above.

There is about 20KG of river stone and about 30-40 shells on the bottom half of it is covered in sand the other half in rocks/shells.

They are a breeding colony, I am new to tangs so I am unfamiliar with tankmates aggression etc.

I would like to know if I can add tankmates to the tank without them trying to kill one another. Preferably open swimming fish. If so which tankmates are sutiable?

Cheers

Bazz

Probably best to go with a species of Leptosoma or maybe Paracyprichromis nigripinnis

Maybe you could keep ventralis instead but just depends on how the simils settle in

If you've got some rock piles then I'd suggest julidochromis and/or gobies such as eretmodus

Got any pictures of your setup?

I imagine the similis take over the entire floor space?

I have used small rocks in a stack just for the smaller fish to hide in. Around that pile is lots of shells.

I can add/remove whatever is required to keep the fish happy

Thanks for the input guys!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by bazz

Ah okay I see

Is there actual space between the rocks for fish to get into hiding places?

otherwise you might need to use larger sized rocks

If you got some more larger rock piles then you'd easily fit some gobies - eretmodus for example, nigripinnis, julidochromis and leptos... you might even be able to put in some sandsifters pleurospilus or melanostigma for example (some sandsifters would be better choices than others)

All that depends on how your fish are acting, the spaces you create, the numbers you get etc. since every tank and fish is different

Haha there is so much more to these little fish then I expected. Where do you get escargot shells from eBay? Or any other preferable shells?